Application for New York State Trooper


Criteria Checklist

  • I will be a citizen of the United States on
    January 19, 2022.
  • I have not been convicted of a felony.
  • I will be 20 years old on January 19, 2022.
  • I will be less than 30 years old prior to
    January 19, 2022 OR I will be 30 years or
    older on January 19, 2022, but I have
    federal active duty military service and
    qualify for a maximum age extension.
  • I have not been dishonorably discharged from
    military service.

If you do not meet all of the criteria above, you will not be permitted to take the examination.

If you do meet the criteria above and understand that by applying online, you will have to pay a non-refundable $ 20.00 application fee by Visa or MasterCard.

If you are receiving public assistance and would like to apply for a reversal of application fee, please call 518-485-0855.

General Instructions

  • It is important that you read the Application Instructions carefully before completing an application. Failure to do so may delay processing and/or prevent you from taking the examination.

  • To complete this process it is recommended that you have access to a printer. You will need to print a payment confirmation at the end of your application.

  • You are advised to print the Application Instructions and follow them as you proceed through the sections. The NYSP is not responsible for applications that are not properly completed.

  • Form fields wherein the information is required are identified with a red asterisk(*). If information has not been entered or a choice made, the application will not be accepted.

  • You will receive a confirmation message at the end of the application process indicating your application was successful. If you leave the process before receiving this message, all information entered will not be saved and must be re-entered at a later time to apply.

  • If you have already applied and would like to change your testing location or update your application:

Application Submission

After you have entered all your information, please review it for accuracy before you submit the form.

When you submit the form, a payment confirmation will be automatically generated giving your name, address, and identification.

  1. This is your receipt of payment (nonrefundable) to the New York State Police. Print this confirmation or save the file for your records.
  2. If for any reason you are unable to print the "Payment Confirmation" do not reapply. Contact the Exam Detail at 518-485-0855 to verify your application was successfully submitted.
  3. Your application to the New York State Police is the first step to take the entrance examination. The final step will be completed on or after December 3, 2021. You will receive an email from Pearson VUE Testing Centers to select your testing site center location, along with the date and time of your test. There is an examination fee of $35.00 (refundable) payable to Pearson VUE at the time of your test site selection. Changing your date, time, or location of testing will be completed through Pearson VUE, not the New York State Police. Ensure you pay particular attention to your spam and/or junk emails for emails from Pearson VUE Testing Centers.
unknown